Join Girl Scouts Volunteer Now

Women of Distinction

Share Button

Women of Distinction Awards

The Girl Scouts Louisiana East council began its Women of Distinction recognition program in 2012 during the Girl Scout Centennial.  The council’s Women of Distinction are nominated from across the council’s 23-parish jurisdiction and are selected based on their remarkable achievements as business, community and civic leaders dedicated to supporting leadership opportunities for girls.

While not every Woman of Distinction was a Girl Scout growing up, each one is dedicated to making our community a better place,  demonstrating Girl Scout values in all she does.

Save the Date for 2014 Women of Distinction, November 7, in New Orleans

Girl Scouts honors nine 2013 Women of Distinction at Awards Dinner and Reception in Baton Rouge

Nine community leaders were named 2013 Women of Distinction at the council’s awards dinner and champagne WODgroupreception held at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center on September 27.  They are Peggy Armstrong, a CPA and longtime Girl Scout Board Treasurer from New Orleans; Terrebonne Parish School Board member and Girl Scout volunteer Brenda Leroux Babin, Ph.D. of Houma; Baton Rouge attorney and board First Vice Chair Linda Law Clark; Girl Scout volunteer and business owner Betty Dixon of Baker; U.S. Marshal Genny May of New Orleans; current volunteer and retired Girl Scout training coordinator Anne Roberts of Baton Rouge; Julie Rose, Ph.D., director of the West Baton Rouge Museum in Port Allen; New Orleans physician Christy Valentine, M.D.;  and Cox executive Jacqueline Vines of Baton Rouge.

The event chair was former Girl Scouts board president and 2012 Woman of Distinction Ann Forte Trappey.  Sponsors included Albemarle Foundation and Valero, Brownie sponsors; and Georgia-Pacific, Louisiana Lottery, and Whitney Bank, Daisy sponsors.

Each Woman of Distinction was presented with an engraved vase by current Girl Scouts Louisiana East Board Chair Robyn Merrick, and Chief Operating Officer Robin Guillmette. Following dinner, guests enjoyed the entertainment of After Eight.

 2012 Women of Distinction

Mary Jane Becker
Margaret Jo Borland Beckwith
Janice Carpenter
Jacquelyn Daniels
Sheila Smith Kimbro
Betty Lauricella
Myrle LeBlanc
Helen Loos
Nell McAnelly
Andrea Phelps McKey
Marguerite Redwine
Karen St. Cyr
Ann Forte Trappey
Margie Loud Zeno

Share Button