side menu icon

Four community leaders honored at Women of Distinction luncheon

2018 Women of Distinction awardees

Girl Scout friends and supporters gathered for the seventh annual Women of Distinction luncheon and Champagne Reception at the Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel on Thursday, April 5. The council recognized four outstanding women for dedicating themselves to making their community a better place.

Honorees were Donna Britt, News Anchor, WAFB-TV; Dr. Rebekah Gee, Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health; Julie LeBlanc, Supervisory Civil Engineer, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; and Elizabeth “Betsy” Stoner, Executive Director, Board of Elections, Orleans Parish.

Event chair was Mary-Patricia Wray, assisted by committee members Linda Law Clark, Bethany France, and Robyn Merrick. Wray welcomed guests as the program began and explained how Girl Scouts has played a positive role in her life, as she is now a lifetime member. Opening remarks were followed by a flag ceremony conducted by Girl Scout Cadette Troop 10324 and an invocation provided by Anne Roberts, 2013 Women of Distinction.

Wray was assisted by committee member and former Woman of Distinction Linda Law Clark, board chair Joan Mollohan, and council CEO, Jackie Alexander who took turns introducing each award recipient. The room filled with laughter and applause after each award presenter expressed many thanks and charmed guests with stories about how the recipients have helped them, the community and Girl Scouts.

The luncheon concluded with a heartfelt request for financial support to continue the Girl Scout experience by Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser and Linda Law Clark.

Corporate sponsors included: DeCuir, Clark & Adams, LLP; Top Drawer Strategies LLC; Louisiana Healthcare Connections, and WAFB.